top of page
Search

Writer Winston's favourite moments and memories of 2019

Once again it was hard to narrow this post down to just long enough to get everything in, while keeping it short enough as to not send readers into a coma. I hope you enjoy the reading as much as I enjoyed the writing.

 
Road to the CMAOs and ugly crying in public, like a pro

The morning I first hit the highway destined for Ottawa, and after a brief skip into Toronto to grab co-pilot Trish, the trip was everything is should be, blue skies, sweeping vistas, and the occasional strategically placed ONroute.

It's safe to say I certainly had no idea what kind of day it would turn out to be.

After throwing our stuff in the door of the Airbnb and taking off to the venue, seems I was going to have to talk to Andrew Hyatt — in person. No big, right?

For anyone who isn't familiar with Mr. Hyatt's work, there's feels. Lots of feels. But, as a seasoned interviewing pro, nothing could shake my confidence.

But first, I was going to have to listen to him sing without the security blanket of a camera in my hand.

Andrew Hyatt - Photo by Trish Cassling

Long story short, emotions ran high and by the time I was face-to-face with one of my favourite artists, I was still casually and discreetly wiping tears off my cheeks.

Nevertheless, the chat was great and what came of it was one of my favourite pieces ever, which I wrote for The Reviews Are In, with an epically fantastic photo taken by Trish Cassling, for which I got to play the role of eager iPhone light stand.

It was the first time I was given the green light to write with a personal voice, and with one of the best musicians in Canadian country music.

All in all, it was a pretty good day.

Feeling brave? Check out the story here.

bottom of page